Energy Healing 101 – 3 Energy Healing Systems Explained

Energy healing is a holistic healing method where the healer can channel healing energy into a person with the aim of ensuring the person’s mental, spiritual and physical wellbeing.

Energy healing aims to activate our body’s energy systems. With the activation of the body’s energy systems, energetic blocks are removed therefore stimulating the body’s natural ability to heal itself. Any imbalance in our bodies creates blocks in the flow of energy, which results in diseases and illnesses, and that imbalance is what energy healing aims to deal with.

Various ancient cultures have studied the body’s energy centres. Reiki for instance, which dates back to the early 20th century, is the Japanese tradition of energy healing. Chakras are part of the healing system from the Indian subcontinent and focus on the 7 energy centers in our body. These ancient cultures used different techniques to stimulate the body’s natural ability to heal.

There are several approaches to energy healing, like hands-on, hands-off and distant healing – and several different energy healing systems.

Below we will explore three of the most popular energy healing systems, namely:

  • Pranic healing
  • Tantric healing
  • Reiki

Read on.

Related articles:

Pranic healing
Energy healing is becoming more and more common

Pranic healing

Pranic healing is an ancient Hindu system of natural healing techniques that uses ‘prana’ to treat illness. ‘Prana’ means life energy (or life force) in Sanskrit. In China, this is known as ‘chi’ and in Japan, it is known as ‘ki’.

There are 7 whirling energy centers in our bodies, called ‘Chakras’, that serve as entry points to ‘Prana’. Chakra, an old Sanskrit word that means wheel, start at the bottom of the spine and end at the top of the head.

The 7 chakras are:

  1. Root Chakra
  2. Sacral Chakra
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra
  4. Heart Chakra
  5. Throat Chakra
  6. Third eye Chakra, and
  7. Crown Chakra. 

In a healthy and balanced person, the 7 chakras give the right balance of energy to the body, mind, and spirit. But if one of the chakras is blocked, moves slowly or too quickly, then illnesses may develop.

Pranic healing aims to balance the chakras, and involves regulating the size of all the chakras to match each other.

‘Aura’ is actually a term that can be traced back to pranic healing. Aura is a non-physical body that consists of energy, which exists along with our physical body. Simply put, it is the light around our body.

The aura that covers our body is said to have seven layers related to the physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual aspects of an individual, as manifested by energy. The color of the aura can reveal information about a person’s thoughts, feelings, and dreams. Aura colors can vary. They can also come in different shades.

Auras come from the energy that a person emits. A person can have a rainbow aura, yellow, orange, red, blue, green, purple, silver, gold, white and even black aura. These colors are all present in a person, but one or two of them usually are more pronounced than the other colors.

Interested to find out the color of your aura? Then check out this video: 

Related articles:

Tantric healing

(Warning: This part is a bit explicit…!)

Tantric healing is another system of energy healing. It comes from the word “tan” which means to spread or expand. Its aim is to release natural energy from the body in order to deal with physical and emotional injuries.

There are different ways of practicing tantric healing, namely:

  • tantric yoga,
  • tantric sex,
  • tantric massage, and
  • tantric meditation.

The notion of connectedness is a returning theme in Tantric writings on spirituality. It is all about the connection on the inside and outside. Tantra helps heal emotional hurt that is often stored in the sexual centers of our body. It is thought that the joining together of man and woman during orgasm can reach spiritual levels which can then rid of the body and mind’s impurity.

Here is a brief primer from a Tantric healer on what happens during a tantric healing session: 

Related articles:


Reiki is a healing technique that was created by a Japanese Buddhist named Mikao Usui over a hundred years ago. It promotes healing through stress reduction and relaxation.

Reiki comes from two Japanese words:

  • “rei” which means “God’s wisdom” or “Higher power”, and
  • “ki” which means ‘life force”.

Reiki literally means “spiritually guided life force energy”.

Reiki represents universal energy, an energy brought forth by a higher intelligence. Students of Reiki are taught how to tap into this energy to heal physical, emotional, and mental injuries.

Reiki, in its most basic form, involves the transfer of universal energy from the healer’s palms to the patient.

Here you can see Reiki in action: 

Closing thoughts

Although Pranic healing, Tantric healing, and Reiki are all systems of energy healing, they differ in the type of energy tapped for healing: life energy, sexual energy, and universal energy respectively.

But they have far more in common than they have uncommon. Here are the three main things they have in  common:

  • the concept of the connection between mind, body, and spirit;
  • the connection of individuals to all living and non-living things around them, and to the universe; and
  • how energy impacts physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being.

What are your thoughts on energy healing? How familiar are you with the three systems we talked about in this article?

Post your thoughts, and experiences in the comments section below.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

You may also like

Leave a Reply